Home » Forum » Recording and mixing »
Best way to record a "Yamaha Guitalele?"

Best way to record a "Yamaha Guitalele?"

posted on #1
dave-c
Membre
Hi,

I wish to try and record my attempts to play a "Yamaha Guitalele".

I have never recorded anything before and am unsure about exactly what I need.

I am thinking about a basic "USB Audio interface" and 'Microphone'.

As I am only a beginner, I am looking at the more economical end of the market.

Has anyone ever recorded this type of instrument before?

If so, what did you find to be the most effective/economical way of getting a decent recording?

Incidentally, I am considering the following:

(1) the Behringer UCG102 combined with
(2) the Superlux HI 10.

Do you think they would do the job for me?

Thanks,

dave-c
dave-c attached the following image:

Edited by dave-c on 26 octobre 2018 à 10:01
posted on #2
Dick Supporter
Hey Dave,
I've taken a quick look at your two devices of choice - both are very "budget", but that's fine with me for a start.
The mic looks allright (for the price and purpose), but the UCG102 can't work with that microphone, it expects you to plug in a so called "line signal", like what you'd get when playing an electric guitar.

That microphone expects to be connected by a three-strand XLR-cable, which you can't connect to the behringers mini jack, so that will not work.

Also, the mic needs a special thing called "phantom power" to work, which is not offered by the behringer.

So, what you'll need if planning to use that mic is a USB device that has
- a microphone preamp with XLR input jacks and
- offers phantom power to serve the mic.

Such devices are available out there at a price of roundabout 100$, and that is definetly money well spent IMO.

Hope that helps a little :)
+1
the t.bone Ovid System CC 100
the t.bone Ovid System CC 100
Condenser Clip Microphone for Ovid System
49 €